The Complete List of Emulsifier Codes

 

This has been obtained by the courtesy of : http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/e-numbers.htm

We are indeed thankful to all the brothers and sisters who are actively involved in the protection of our Community as well as other communities who may be consuming food with additives, emulsifiers and stabilizer that may be harmful to their health. Please remember such brothers and sisters in your prayers.

 

Zulkifli Nazim

 

E- means EC (European communities) and E-Numbers are assigned to various food additives. Some E-Numbers are banned in some countries. In UK Numbers without E prefix are allowed but may not be allowed in other country. We are getting lot of e-mails from our Muslims brother and sisters inquiring about Halal status of E-Numbers, so we decided to add to our web site. E-Numbers are divided into the following categories:

E-Numbers                                 Food Additives

100-180                                        Colors

200-252                                        Preservatives

260-297                                        Acidities

300-385                                        Antioxidant

400-429                                        Thickeners

430-499                                        Emulsifiers

620-640                                        Flavor Enhancer

950-967                                        Sweeteners  

Halal Status: The Halal status was given to the ingredients which are obtained from 100% Halal raw materials without use of alcohol. These are plant and chemical based material.

Haram: Those are obtained from animal source or use of alcohol. All non-zabiha Halal animal by-products were considered as Haram because Allahs name was not announced at the time of slaughtering the animal. Off course pork by product was considered 100% Haram.  Some Muslims may differ with us about not accepting the meat slaughtered by people of the book as not Halal meat.

Mushbooh: Mushbooh status was given to those E-Numbers where source of raw material was not known, it could be from plant source or animal source and also lack of information of use of alcohol with based ingredients.

Hidden ingredients: We have no knowledge of different food laws in different countries regarding hidden processing aid ingredients which may be Haram.

HARAM E  NUMBERS:

The following ingredients are considered as Haram:

E 120: Cochineal (red color from insects) according to Hanafi Muzhab

E 441: Gelatin , if it is from pig

E 542: Edible Bone Phosphate if it is from pork bones

We have carefully checked these ingredients based on our knowledge of US food industry. Sources of food ingredients in different countries may be different and we request you to check them out by contacting the food ingredient suppliers and food manufacturer in your country. 

Warning: Some ingredients are not 100% pure. Hidden ingredients or processing aid ingredients are added to help dissolve or mix or process a food ingredient in a food system. These hidden ingredients are not reported along the food ingredients names or ingredients statement of a food product where they use if they fall under regulatory allowance such as a maximum 2% of the total formula of a food ingredient or food product in US. For example Beta Carotene food ingredient in US is not 100% pure, it is 98% pure and 2% may include vegetable oil or fish gelatin. Please verify the Halal status of the hidden ingredients from food ingredients suppliers or food manufacturer in your country.  

E-Number

Name

Description

Halal Status

E100

Curcumin/Turmeric

Color

 Halal if pure grind turmeric powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, the solvents has to be Halal. Haram if hidden ingredient is pork fat based emulsifier in dry mix.

E101

Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)

Color

Mushbooh (Haram if from pork liver & Kidney, Halal if 100% plant material

E102

Tartrazine

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E104

Quinoline Yellow

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent other than water has to be Halal

E110

Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow S

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E120

Cochineal / Carminic Acid

Color

Haram according to Hanafi Muzhab

E122

Carmoisine / Azorubine

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E123

Amaranth

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E124

Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E127

Erythrosine BS

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E131

Patent Blue V

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E132

Indigo Carmine / Idigotine

Color

Halal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color  but if pork glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haram

E140

Chlorophyll

Color

Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent

E141

Copper Complex of Chlorophyll

Color

Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent

E142

Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E150(a-d)

Caramel Color/with chemicals

Color

Halal

E151

Black PN / Brilliant Black BN

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E153

Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal)

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E160a

Alpha, Beta, Gamma

Color - Carotene

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E160b

Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin

Color - Carotene

Halal

E160c

Capsanthin / Capsorbin

Color- Carotene

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E160d

Lycopene

Color - Carotene

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E160e

Beta-apo-8-carotenal

Color - Carotene

Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier

E160f

Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8-cartonoic acid

Color - Carotene

Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier  

E161a

Flavoxanthin

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E161b

Lutein

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if pork gelatin or pork glycerin is added in dry or liquid form

E161c

Cryptoxanthin

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E161d

Rubixanthin

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E161e

Violaxanthin

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E161f

Rhodoxanthin

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E161g

Canthaxanthin

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E162

Beetroot Red / Betanin

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal    

E163

Anthocyanins

Color

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

E170

Calcium Carbonate (Chalk)

Color - Inorganic

Halal if obtained from rock mineral and used as 100% dry powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, solvent has to be Halal

E171

Titanium Dioxide

Color - Inorganic

 Halal

E172

Iron Oxides and Hydroxides

Color - Inorganic

 Halal

E173

Aluminium

Color - Inorganic

 Halal

E174

Silver

Color - Inorganic

 Halal

E175

Gold

Color - Inorganic

 Halal 

E180

Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK

Color - Inorganic

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal    

E200

Sorbic Acid

Preservative

 Halal

E201

Soduim Sorbate

Preservative

 Halal

E202

Potassium Sorbate

Preservative

 Halal

E203

Calcium Sorbate

Preservative

 Halal

E210

Benzoic Acid

Preservative

 Halal

E211

Sodium Benzoate

Preservative

 Halal

E212

Potassium Benzoate

Preservative

 Halal

E213

Calcium Benzoate

Preservative

 Halal, if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.

E214

Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate

Preservative

Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E215

Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt

Preservative

Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E216

Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate

Preservative

Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E217

Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt

Preservative

Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E218

Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate

Preservative

Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E219

Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt

Preservative

Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E220

Sulphur Dioxide

Preservative

 Halal

E221

Sodium Sulphite

Preservative

 Halal

E222

Sodium Hydrogen Sulphite

Preservative

 Halal

E223

Sodium Metabisulphite

Preservative

 Halal

E224

Potassium Metabisulphite

Preservative

 Halal

E226

Calcium Sulphite

Preservative

 Halal

E227

Calcium Hydrogen Sulphite

Preservative

 Halal , if calcium is obtained from mineral or chemicals. Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.

E230

Biphenyl / Diphenyl

Preservative

Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E231

2-Hydroxybiphenyl

Preservative

Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E232

Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl Oxide

Preservative

Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E233

2-(Thiazol-4-yl) Benzimidazole

Preservative

Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E239

Hexamine

Preservative - other

 Halal

E249

Potassium Nitrate

Preservative

 Halal

E250

Sodium Nitrite

Preservative

 Halal

E251

Sodium Nitrate

Preservative

 Halal

E252

Potassium Nitrate(Saltpetre)

Preservative

 Halal

E260

Acetic Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids

 Halal

E261

Potassium Acetate

Miscellaneous - Acids

 Halal

E262

Potassium Hydrogen Diacetate

Miscellaneous - Acids

 Halal

E263

Calcium Acetate

Miscellaneous - Acids

 Halal

E270

Lactic Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids

 Halal if obtained other than whey. In USA it is always from non dairy source.

E280

Propionic Acid

Preservative - Acids

 Halal

E281

Sodium Propionate

Preservative- Acids

 Halal

E282

Calcium Propionate

Preservative- Acids

 Halal if calcium obtained from mineral , Mushbooh if it obtained from bones

E283

Potassium Propionate

Preservative- Acids

 Halal

E290

Carbon Dioxide

Miscellaneous

 Halal

E300

L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)

Antioxidants- Vitamin C

 Halal

E301

Sodium-L-Ascorbate

Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives

 Halal

E302

Calcium-L-Ascorbate

Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives

 Halal , if the calcium source is from mineral, Mushbooh if it is from bones

E304

Ascorbyl Palmitate

Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives

Halal if saturated  fatty acid Palmitic acid is obtained from plant. Haram if palmitic acid is obtained from pork fat 

E306

Natural Extracts rich in Tocopherols

Antioxidants- Vitamin E

Halal If Tocopherol is obtained from plant fat. Haram if Tocopherol is obtained from pork fat  

E307

Synthetic Alpha-Tocopherol

Antioxidants- Vitamin E

Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method

E308

Synthetic Gamma-Tocopherol

Antioxidants- Vitamin E

Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method

E309

Synthetic Delta-Tocopherol

Antioxidants- Vitamin E

Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method

E310

Propyl Gallate

Antioxidants- other

Halal

E311

Octyl Gallate

Antioxidants- other

Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion 

E312

Dodecyl Gallate

Antioxidants- other

Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion. Haram if alcohol was used as solvent 

E320

Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA)

Antioxidants- other

Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haram if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical.

E321

Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT)

Antioxidants- other

Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haram if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical.

E322

Lecithin

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers

Halal if obtained from soy fat or egg yolk in Europe. It is Halal in USA because it is always obtained from soy fat.

E325

Sodium Lactate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid

 Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source

E326

Potassium Lactate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid

 Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source

E327

Calcium Lactate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid

 Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source and calcium from mineral

E330

Citric Acid

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

E331

Sodium Citrates

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

E332

Potassium Citrates

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

E333

Calcium Citrates

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

 Halal if calcium source is not from bones

E334

Tartaric Acid

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts

Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E335

Sodium Tartrates

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts

Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E336

Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar)

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts

Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E337

Potassium Sodium Tartrates

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts

Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E338

Orthophosphoric Acid

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

E339

Sodium Phosphates

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

E340

Potassium Phosphates

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

E341

Calcium Phosphates

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts

 Halal if calcium from mineral source

E400

Alginic Acid

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

 Halal

E401

Sodium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

 Halal

E402

Potassium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

 Halal

E403

Ammonium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

 Halal

E404

Calcium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

 Halal if calcium source is from mineral

E405

Propane-1,2-Diol Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

 Halal

E406

Agar

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums

 Halal

E407

Carrageenan

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums

 Halal

E410

Locust Bean Gum (Carob Gum)

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums

 Halal

E412

Guar Gum

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums

 Halal

E413

Tragacanth

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums

 Halal.

E414

Gum Acacia (Gum Arabic)

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums

 Halal

E415

Xanthan Gum

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums

 Halal

E420

Sorbitol

Sugar Alcohols

 Halal

E421

Mannitol

Sugar Alcohols

 Halal

E422

Glycerol

Sugar Alcohols

Mushbooh, called Glycerin in USA, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E440a

Pectin

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives

 Halal

E440b

Amidated Pectin

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives

 Halal

E450a,b,c

Sodium and Potassium Phosphates and Polyphosphates

Miscellaneous

 Halal

E460

Microcrystalline / Powdered Cellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives

 Halal

E461

Methylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives

 Halal

E463

Hydroxypropylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives

 Halal

E464

Hydroxypropyl-Methylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives

 Halal

E465

Ethylmethylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives

 Halal

E466

Carboxymethylcellulose, Sodium Salt

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives

 Halal

E470

Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from porkl fat

E471

Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from porkl fat

E472

Various Esters of Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from porkl fat

E473

Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E474

Sucroglycerides

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E475

Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E477

Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E481

Sodium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E482

Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E483

Stearyl Tartrate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

 

FOOD INGREDIENTS NUMBERS WITH NO E-PREFIX

Number

Name

DESCRIPTION

HALAL STATUS

107

Yellow 2G

Colors

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

128

Red 2G

Colors

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

133

Brilliant Blue FCF

Colors

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

154

Brown FK

Colors

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

155

Brown HT

Colors

Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal  

234

Nisin

Preservative - other

Halal 

262

Sodium Acetate

Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts

 Halal

296

Malic Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts

 Halal

297

Fumaric Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts

 Halal

350

Sodium Malate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

351

Potassium Malate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

352

Calcium Malate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

353

Metataric Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

355

Adipic Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

363

Succinic Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

370

1,4-Heptonolactane

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

375

Nicotinic Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

380

Triammonium Citrate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

381

Ammonium Ferric Citrate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

385

Calcium Disodium EDTA

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

 Halal

416

Karaya Gum

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers

 Halal

430

Polyoxyethane (8) Stearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

431

Polyoxyethane (40) Stearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

432

Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan / Polysorbate 20

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

433

Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Mono-oleate / Polysorbate 80

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

434

Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monopalmitate / Polysorbate 40

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

435

Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monostearate / Polysorbate 60

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

436

Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Tristearate / Polysorbate 65

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

476

Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed Esters of Caster Oil

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

478

Lactylated Fatty Acid Esters of Glycerol and Propane-1,2-Diol

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

491

Sorbitan Monostearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

492

Sorbitan Tristearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

493

Sorbitan Monolaurate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

494

Sorbitan Mono-oleate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

495

Sorbitan Monopalmitate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids

Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

500

Sodium Carbonate / Sodium Bicarbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates

 Halal

501

Potassium Carbonate / Potassium Bicarbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates

 Halal

503

Ammonium Carbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates

 Halal

504

Magnesium Carbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates

 Halal

507

Hydrochloric Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

508

Potassium Chloride

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

509

Calcium Chloride

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

510

Ammonium Chloride

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

513

Sulphuric Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

514

Sodium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

515

Potassium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

516

Calcium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

518

Magnesium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

 Halal

524

Sodium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

 Halal

525

Potassium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

 Halal

526

Calcium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

 Halal

527

Ammonium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

 Halal

528

Magnesium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

 Halal

529

Calcium Oxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

 Halal

530

Magnesium Oxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

 Halal

535

Sodium Ferrocyanide

Miscellaneous - other Salts

 Halal

536

Potassium Ferrocyanide

Miscellaneous - other Salts

 Halal

540

Dicalcium Ferrocyanide

Miscellaneous - other Salts

 Halal

541

Sodium Aluminium Phosphate

Miscellaneous - other Salts

 Halal

542

Edible Bone Phosphate (Bone-Meal)

Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents

Haram if the bones from pig

544

Calcium Polyphosphates

Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from minerals, Haram if it is from pig bones

545

Ammonium Polyphosphates

Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents

 Halal

551

Silicon Dioxide (Silica Salt)

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

 Halal

552

Calcium Silicate

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

 Halal

553

Magnesium Silicate / Magnesium Trisilicate (Talc)

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

 Halal

554

Aluminium Sodium Silicate

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

 Halal

556

Aluminium Calcium Silicate

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

Mushbooh, Halal if calcium from mineral rocks, Haram if calcium from pig bones

558

Bentonite

Miscellaneous - other compounds

 Halal

559

Kaolin (Aluminium Silicate)

Miscellaneous - other compounds

 Halal

570

Stearic Acid

Miscellaneous - other compounds

Mushbooh, Halal if the source is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

572

Magnesium Stearate

Miscellaneous - other compounds

Mushbooh, Halal if the source is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

575

Glucono Delta-Lactone

Miscellaneous - other compounds

 Halal

576

Sodium Gluconate

Miscellaneous - other compounds

 Halal

577

Potassium Gluconate

Miscellaneous - other compounds

 Halal

578

Calcium Gluconate

Miscellaneous - other compounds

 Halal

620

L-Glutamic Acid

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant protein, Haram if it is from pig protein

621

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat

622

Monopotassium Glutamate

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat

623

Calcium Glutamate

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat

627

Sodium Guanylate

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

Halal if it is obtained from sardines or baker's yeast extract. Mus hbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a by-product of beer making

631

Sodium Inosinate

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

Halal if it is obtained from sardines. Mus hbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a by-product of beer making. Haram if it is extracted from pig meat.  

635

Sodium5-Ribonucleotide

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

Mushbooh, it is a combination of E N 627 and EN 631

636

Maltol

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

 Halal  

637

Ethyl Maltol

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

 Halal

900

Dimethylpolysiloxane

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

 Halal

901

Beeswax

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

 Halal

903

Carnauba Wax

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

 Halal

904

Shellac

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

Halal if no if it is not treated with alcohol, two types of shellac is available, the Halal type  is not treated with alcohol but other type is treated with alcohol. A gummy secretion material from the pores of a insect Coccus lacca that feed on Palas trees in India and South Asia. This gummy material is called Lac. Manufactured by Indian companies.

905

Mineral Hydrocarbons

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

 Halal  

907

Refined Microcrystalline Wax

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

Mushbooh, Halal if obtained from plant fat wax. Haram if it is obtained from pork fat wax

920

L-Cysteine Hydrochloride

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

Mushbooh, Haram if it is obtained from human hair, Halal if it is made from Halal synthetic material. The third source is from chicken/duck feathers. There is difference of opinions among different Islamic scholars. One school of ulema says it is Halal the other says not Halal.  

924

Potassium Bromate

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

 Halal

925

Chlorine

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

 Halal

926

Chlorine Dioxide

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

 Halal

927

Azodicarbonamide

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

 Halal

 Updated: June 14, 2004